Appeal Court Upholds Suspension Of Oshiomhole As Apc National Chairman




The Appeal Court, suiting in Abuja, has affirmed the suspension of Adams Oshiomhole as the national chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The three -man panel held that the lower court was right to have suspended Oshiohmole based on an ex-parte application brought against him by five members of the party.

Oshiomhole was suspended on March 4, 2020, following an ex-parte application filed by the deputy chairman of the party in the Northeast, Mustapha Salihu, and five others through their Counsel, Oluwole Afolabi, in January before Justice Danlami Senchi.

In a unanimous judgment, Tuesday night, in the first appeal delivered by Justice Eunice Onyemanam, the court held that the FCT High Court had territorial jurisdiction to have entertained the suit as it did and order Oshiomhole to stop  parading himself as the national chairman of the party, until the determination of the substantive suit.

The appelate court also upheld the withdrawal of  his rights and privileges as national chairman of the party, including his security details by the police and Department of State Services, DSS.

The court said its decision was based on the ground that Oshiomole as the first appellant is based in Abuja while the APC also had its national headquarters in Abuja.

In its judgment on the second appeal delivered by Justice Mohammed Lamido, the court disagreed with Oshiomhole that his right to fair hearing was breached when the trial court suspended him, pointing out that  there was no basis for the two appellants to hold that they were denied fair hearing during proceedings at the high court .

It further held that the suspension of Oshiomhole from ward 10 of Etsako local government of Edo state was ratified at the ward, local government and state levels as required by law.

Furthermore, the court agreed that the identities of those who suspended Oshiomhole were not in doubt because they made it clear in their unchallenged affidavit, that they were party members and officers of the party.

In the final analysis, the court said that the appeals lacked merit and subsequently dismissed them. 

The two dismissed appeals were filed by Oshiomhole and the APC respectively. 

The respondents included  Comrade Mustapha Saliu, Anselem Ojezua, Alhaji Sank Gomina, Oshawo Stephen, Hon Fani Wabulari, Evangelist Princewil Ejoghargo, Inspector General of Police and Department of State Services, DSS.